Here’s How To Turn Off The New Instagram Feature that tells Others When You Were Last Online

This past week Instagram added a new feature to its Direct Messaging system that allows users to see when their friends were last online. In an attempt to keep up with other messaging apps and Facebook’s own Messenger, Instagram will allow you to keep tabs on people you follow or have sent messages to in the past

The new feature has been activated by default and doesn’t require you to go to the play store and update the app. It is in the testing phase and is rolling out in phase. This means without your prior knowledge, all of your connections on Instagram can now see the last time you opened the app.

Although if it makes you uncomfortable, there’s good news for you. You can toggle the new feature off.

To Switch Off The New Instagram Feature –

Instagram new feature

  1. Click on your profile tab
  2. Tap the gear icon next to the words Edit Profile.
  3. Scroll to Settings
  4. You’ll find a new option that says ‘Show Activity Status’
  5. Toggle the switch to off.

Also, like the WhatsApp Blue Ticks, once you switch it off you won’t be able to see others’ activity status either. But that’s okay, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *